Another one bytes the dust

I’ve just pushed a change to kdepim 4.4 which removes this annoying dialog in a few annoying cases.

For users, this dialog was coming up, and not seeming to give any useful information, and when dismissed, the application was usable.

Showing the dialog was actually a bug that was fixed some time in February 2010 with improvements to the kdepim libraries, but because there was no KDEPIM applications 4.5 release, didn’t make it to users.

The fix was to make the applications not call dangerous API with sub-eventloops.

9 Responses to “Another one bytes the dust”

  1. Achim Bohnet Says:

    You’re my Hero of the day! Thx a lot!

  2. Raphaël Pinson Says:

    Thank you! Now to roll this up on my mom’s computer, she was getting crazy with this!

  3. Thomas Says:

    https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=268120#c2

  4. hate-engine Says:

    >and when dismissed, the application was usable.

    actually “when dismissed, kmail crashes, but restarting kmail doesn’t show it again”

  5. Bernhard Says:

    This dialog drove me nuts! Thanks a lot for fixing, I hope I’ll never see that dialog again 😉

  6. JanKusanagi Says:

    Great! Thanks!!
    I recently got my mother started using Kmail, and it was frustrating seeing this every first startup of kmail, having to close it, and restart Kmail afterwards.
    It was one of those ugly “just close this and start again” things…

  7. Lure Says:

    You rock! This is really annoying and was slowly getting on my nerves.
    Is there a planned 4.4.x KDEPIM release that will include your fix?

  8. Another Post On How Android Is Beating Out iPhone and Blackberry | Blog Network Says:

    […] Another one bytes the dust « Steveire's Blog […]

  9. Links /4/2011: Mourning Mozilla Messaging, Celebrating Simple Java API for ODF | Techrights Says:

    […] Another one bytes the dust I’ve just pushed a change to kdepim 4.4 which removes this annoying dialog in a few annoying cases. […]

Leave a comment